Also read in

Criticised as “weaker” candidate, BJP’s Dipayan Chakraborty wins Silchar; Mahajot wins more seats

The counting process is at the last stage but the election has been called. BJP and its alliance – Mitrajot has crossed the halfway mark and will form government again in Assam. What was being termed as the Chhattisgarh model by the Congress and its Mahajot has hit a roadblock.

The constituency in Barak Valley that was widely discussed is Silchar. From top ranking editors of daily broadsheets to professors, all predicted Dilip Paul to be a major factor. In fact, BJP’s star campaigners who travelled to Silchar ensured that they mention two-time MLA and rebelling candidate, Dilip Paul at least once. On the other hand, Dipayan Chakraborty who was criticised as the “Weaker” candidate has won Silchar convincingly.

“Silchar rejected cheap and personal attacks on me,” said Dipayan Chakraborty while reacting to the trends that suggest a mammoth victory for the first-time candidate. He said he is eager to join the government and start working for the benefit of the larger mass. Till the time this report was filed, Dipayan Chakraborty is ahead by at least 35,000 votes.

In Lakhipur constituency, Kaushik Rai has fought a tough battle and won. Former BJP Candidate and a popular figure among the Manipuri community, Thoiba Singh made it difficult by taking away 19,619 potential votes. But Kaushik Rai still managed to get 53,721 votes to defeat Congress’ Mukesh Pandey by 12,053 votes. Pandey got 41,668 votes.

BJP snubbed incumbent MLA Kishore Nath to hand over the ticket to new face in Amalendu Das. The decision backfired as the party lost the seat. Congress’ Misbahul Islam Laskar with 62,432 votes defeated Das by 7,175 vote.



In Sonai constituency, deputy speaker and BJP’s minority face in the state, Aminul Haque Laskar faced a heavy defeat. AIUDF candidate, Karim Uddin Barbhuiya also known as ‘Saju’ got 70,082 votes to defeat Laskar by 19,516 votes. Aminul Haque Laskar got 50,566 votes. It is worth mentioning here that BJP rebel, Ashish Haldar who contested as an independent candidate got around 10,000 votes which played a crucial role.

In Dholai constituency, Minister Parimal Suklabaidya won the election with a massive margin. His triumph over Congress’ Kamakhya Prasad Mala makes him a huge figure in Assam Politics. Suklabaidya got 82,568 votes while Mala managed 62,176 votes. The difference, as per our sources stood at 20,392 votes.

In Udharbond constituency, Mihir Kanti Shome managed a narrow win over Congress-veteran Ajit Singh to become the MLA for the second consecutive term. 61,745 votes made Shome victorious by 2,685 votes.

High profile candidate, Gautam Roy who switched from Congress to BJP and was a surprise as the party decided to field him in Katigorah. The party expected him to break into the minority vote bank but that did not happen. Congress’ Khalil Uddin Mazumdar won the election in Katigorah after fetching 82,610 votes. Roy got 75,513 votes to lose the election by 7097 votes.

In Hailakandi, AIUDF won all the seats while in Karimganj BJP won two, Congress won two and AIUDF got one. Also, AIUDF did not lose a single seat in Barak Valley and was the dominant partner in the Mahajot alliance.

Comments are closed.