Also read in

Dibakar steers Strikers to Victory in BPL; Guwahati Bud Club and Silchar Lions also tasted win

The original schedule of the ongoing Barak Premier League (BPL) had 2 matches per day scheduled to take place. But due to Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal’s election event on Thursday, the Silchar Veteran Cricketers Club had to handover the DSA ground. Hence, no match was played that day. So they conducted three matches on Friday to make up for the ‘loss’ caused by not having a match on Thursday. The third match of the day was played under the floodlights. This is a record in domestic cricket as never before have three matches been conducted in one day.

The three matches on Friday were won by Silchar Strikers, Silchar Lions and Guwahati Bud Club. In the first match of the day at Satindra Mohan Dev Stadium, Silchar Strikers beat Katigorah Phantoms in a thrilling match by 3 wickets. Batting first, Katigorah Phantoms scored 134 runs for the loss of seven wickets in 20 overs. Pervez Musharraf (34), Rahul Dey (10), Sujit Kumar Das (21) and Amitabh Das (24) got decent runs. 23 runs were scored from extras.

In fact, due to the failure of the top order batting, the Katigorah team could not score big in that match. At one time, their score was 60 for the loss of 5 wickets. However, due to the good performance of the lower middle order, Katigorah could put up a decent score. Abhay Kumar Yadav took three wickets.

Chasing the set target, Silchar Strikers lost wickets at regular intervals from the start. At one point, they lost six wickets in 50 runs. One by one, Prosenjit Sarkar (15), Mojibur Ali (25) all went back to the dressing room early. Aman Singh, then Bhargav Bodo and Krishanu Dutta all scored ducks. All hopes seemed lost at one point for Silchar Strikers. However, Shubhajit Paul and Dibakar Johri took the helm of the team in such a difficult situation. Batting at number eight, Dibakar played an unbeaten innings of 53 runs. Shubhajit scored 25. When Shubhajit got out, they were still struggling at 105 for 7. In that situation, Dibakar stood up in the slog overs. His 30-ball innings had 5 fours and 3 sixes. Due to his slog overs hitting, Silchar Strikers could get 138 runs in 19.2 overs. Sujit Kumar Yadav and Nibir Deka took two wickets each. Dibakar Johri was adjudged as the man of the match for his brilliant knock. The trophy was handed over to him by Arijit Gupta.

In the second match, Silchar Lions picked up an easy seven-wicket win over Tinsukia Rail. Batting first, Tinsukia Rail managed to score 93 runs only for the loss of 8 wickets. Notable contributions came from Selim Ahmed (33), Abhilash Gogoi (16) and Chaomin Barua (10). Chandra Das, Fazlur Rahman and Ridwip Deka took two wickets each. In reply, Silchar Lions reached the target at the expense of three wickets in 15.4 overs. Raju Das scored 40 runs and Bikash Choudhury scored 36. Raju Das was adjudged as the man of the match. Debangshu Sharma handed over the trophy to him on behalf of the title sponsor of the tournament.

In the third match of the day, Guwahati Bud Club beat Badarpur Royals by 5 wickets. Batting first, Badarpur Royals were restricted to 119 for the loss of 5 wickets. The Royals couldn’t bat aggressively in the first 10 overs, which pushed them to backfoot. Jafrul Imran Tapadar (33) and Bijoy Deb (37) scored good runs. The right-handed and left-handed combination was rotating the strike pretty well. But whenever offered any loose ball, they capitulated on the given opportunity. Bijoy even a beautiful six from the straight bat. Liaqat Ahmed also managed to score 21 runs. Special compliment should be given to the Bud Club’s ground fielding for their relentless effort, even though they missed an opportunity at the point. Akash Sengupta bowled well faring 3 wickets for 28 runs.

Under the floodlights, Bud Cricket Club reached the set target after losing five wickets in 16.4 overs. Eric Roy was the top scorer for the team with 47 runs. Besides, Amjad Ali made 43 runs. Although it seemed an easy win at first, but there was a time when Bud Club lost 4 wickets for 22 runs only. Shubhankar Dey took three wickets. Eric Roy was adjudged as the man of the match. Chandan Sharma handed over the trophy to him.

Comments are closed.