Also read in

Hatrick on day-1 of 'B' Division tournament in DSA; Madhyasahar, Classmates union start with win

After a long hiatus, cricket kickstarted in Satindra Mohan Dev Memorial Stadium on November 20. Parul Rani Sharma Second Division league cum knockout Prize Money Cricket tournament’s first two matches were played yesterday. Though it is Second Division Cricket, there was a lot of excitement among locals as a cricket tournament is being organised after so long.

In the first match of the day, Madhya Sahar defeated Udayan Sangha by eight wickets. After winning the toss, Madhya Sahar decided to bowl first. The team’s bowled used the favourable conditions for their benefit and restricted Udayan Sangha’s innings to just 101 for nine wickets. Saumik Das scored 21 for the Sangha while Bikash Deb’s 17 and Santosh Das’ 14 were the only scores in double figures. Extras 23 was the highest contributor for Udayan Sangha.

Priyanshu Barman picked up four wickets for Madhya Sahar after conceding only 15 runs. Lipon Sinha and Jewel Choudhury also picked up two wickets each. Chasing 101 looked like a cakewalk for Madhya Sahar as they went past it by losing only two wickets. Siba Sinha scored highest 47 for Madhya Sahar and he was partnered by Biplab Sinha’s 32.

Second match of the day was a no-contest. After winning the toss, Classmates Union elected to bat first and scored 165 for the loss of four wickets. Rahul Roy’s unbeaten 39, Kunal Roy’s unbeaten 34 helped the Unions to put up a huge total. Shankar Roy’s 28, Purinder Singh’s 29 and Ripu Majumder’s 22 were other significant contributions.

Majumder shined brightly with the ball too. On the tournament’s first day, Majumder registered a hatrick which helped Union defeat Arunachal SS. Majumder picked up four wicked and Bishan Barman picked three more. Arunachal SS was bundled out for 119.

Comments are closed.