Also read in

In B Division cricket Itkhola becomes champion by defeating Classmates in thrilling final

Itkhola Sporting became champions in Silchar DSA B Division Prize Money League cum Knockout Cricket. They beat Classmates Union by just one run in a tense final on Sunday. By virtue of becoming champion, Itkhola Sporting got permission to play first division cricket next year. On the other hand, the dream of Classmate got ruined for just one run.

Classmate decided to field first after winning the toss at India Club ground. After being invited to bat, Itkhola Sporting scored 169 runs for 9 wickets in the allotted 30 overs. Itkhola kept losing wickets at regular intervals from the beginning. As a result, they could not build a big partnership in that way. Batting at number three, the experienced player Vishal Tiwari played an innings of 39 runs. However, Rohit Das (41) came to bat at number six with the highest number of runs for the team. Besides, Krishna Singh (17) and Rahul Singh (15) contributed significantly to the team’s tally. 35 runs came from extras. Manojit Rudra Paul took three wickets (3-40) while Bishal Rudra Paul took two wickets.

Two openers Amandeep Goala (34) and Purandar Singh (26) gave the Classmates a great start to chasing the runs. The opening pair of the two made 70 runs. Amandeep went back to the pavilion but the Classmate were still in control of the match. However, they kept losing wickets at regular intervals after the dismissal of the opening pair. Significant contributions to the team’s tally were made by Vishal Nag (29), Manojit Rudra Paul (19) and Ripu Majumdar (16). The Classmate returned to the match again with good batting by the lower middle order. However, they were all out for 168 runs infront of Itkhola’s brilliant bowling.

Itkhola’s right-arm pacer Dipankar Das played an important role in turning the almost-lost match into a victory. He picked up three wickets with only 7 runs in six overs. His bowling analysis was 6-3-7-3. Besides, Rahul Singh bowled well (2-35). Itkhola received 12,000 rupees alongwith the trophy for being the champion. The runner’s up Classmate received 8 thousand rupees alongwith a trophy. Itkhola’s Dipankar Das was adjudged Man of the Final for his brilliant spell.

Comments are closed.