Barak Bulletin is a hyperlocal news publication which features latest updates, breaking news, interviews, feature stories and columns.
Also read in

Panchayat Polls: 5,919 candidates from Cachar district; 44 win uncontested

In a brief programme organised at the Silchar District Library earlier this Sunday afternoon, Cachar Deputy Commissioner Dr. S. Lakshmanan revealed that a total of 5,919 candidates are contesting the polls in the Cachar district out of which 105 candidates are fighting for a Zila Parishad member post, 565 candidates for a place in the Anchalik Parishad, 592 for Gaon Panchayat president and the remaining 4,657 for a group member post.


It is also noteworthy here that 44 candidates have won uncontested two weeks prior to the elections. Two among them were fighting for an Anchalik Parishad (AP) seat whereas the remaining 42 for a group member post in their respective blocks. The two AP members are BJP candidates. One of the two AP members is Kasturi Rani Deb of Udharbond’s Khaspur GP while the other leader is Moni Rani Bagti of Kalain’s Kalibari GP.


24 out of the 42 GP group member winners are BJP candidates, 12 of them are Congress candidates and remaining 5 are independent candidates. He also noted that no nominations were filed for 4 different GP group member posts which included Ward no. 1 of Digorkhal Paikan GP, Ward no. 2 of Katirail GP, Ward no. 7 of Narayanpur GP and Ward no. 8 of Kachudaram GP.


He further noted that on December 9 voting process will begin from 7am onwards and will go on till 3 pm. He added that votes would be counted on December 12 at Silchar ISBT in 14 different halls with 10 tables allotted for each hall. The total number of polling stations will be 1,655. West Silchar Zila Parishad has a maximum total of 55,099 voters and Lakhipur Zila Parishad has the minimum of 22, 028 voters.


He also stated that West Silchar Zila Parishad will be allotted 18 polling stations and 11 polling stations for East Silchar Zila Parishad.

Comments are closed.