Also read in

Pritam Das, Rahul Singh, Abhishek Thakuri in Assam’s team; “They are our pride,” DSA’s Bijendra Prasad Singh

Assam Cricket Association has announced the squad for the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali T-20 tournament. The tournament will kickstart on November 4, 2021, in Delhi. BCCI’s flagship T-20 domestic tournament has been a stepping stone for players to the national team.

The ACA has shown trust on youngster Riyan Parag despite his poor show for Rajasthan Royal in the Indian Premier League. Parag will lead the team in the T-20 tournament.

What comes as a massive joy for the people of Barak Valley is that the famous Silchar trio has managed to retain their spot. Cachar Express Pritam Das was the pick of the bowlers in the tournament’s last edition and this year too he had found his spot. Apart from Das, Wicket Keeper Abhishek Thakuri and left arm bowler Rahul Singh have been selected. Thakuri started the last tournament as first-choice wicket keeper batting at number three. However, he was later dropped down the order owing to poor performances. Singh also struggled to pick wickets but was economical.


Pritam Das driving Assam to victory with his express bowling. Image Credit: Hotstar


“Pritam Das, Rahul Singh and Abhishek Thakuri are not just players from this district but they are our pride. They are our future. Three of them booked their berth in the state team for the prestigious Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and that has come to us as Puja gift. My best wishes to all three of them,” shared Bijendra Prasad Singh, secretary, District Sports Association, Silchar.

Ajay Ratra is head coach of the squad with Stuart Binny and Salil Sinha in his team of coaching staff. Bhaskar Borah is the trainer of the team while Kaustab Bharadwaj is the physio. Rajesh Sharma will travel as video analyst and Pratim Hazarika as manager.

The full squad:

1. Riyan Parag – Captain
2. Pallav Kumar Das
3. Rishav Das
4. Denish Das
5. Amit Sinha
6. Saahil Jain
7. Akash Sengupta
8. Rajjakuddin Ahmed
9. Rahul Singh
10. Roshan Alam
11. Amlanjyoti Das
12. Jitumoni Kalita
13. Kunal Saikia – W.K.
14. Abhishek Thakuri – W.K.
15. Mukhtar Hussain
16. Pritam Das
17. Dharani Rabha

Standby :
1. Subham Mandal
2. Nibir Deka
3. Denish Ahmed
4. Mrinmoy Dutta
5. Nasirullah – W.K.
6. Nipan Deka
7. Abhilash Gogoi

Comments are closed.