Also read in

Silchar DSA's 2nd Division Cricket: Spirits Union, Town Boys register victories

Spirit Union and Town Boys won today’s matches of the Parul Rani Sharma Smriti Cricket Second Division League cum Knockout prize money on Saturday. In the first match of the day, Tarun Sangha lost to Spirit Union by 6 wickets. Spirit Union decided to field first after winning the toss. Tarun Sangha scored 126 runs for 6 wickets in the allotted 20 overs. They batted very slow in the first 10 overs which pushed them back. Notable run scorers were Sajal Paul (25), Abhishek Bharati (27), Samarpan Dev (17) and Sahid Ahmed Chowdhury (15). Dolan Suklabaidya and Tapos Suklabaidya took two wickets each.

With 3 balls left in hand, Spirit Union reached the target by losing 4 wickets. No matter what the scoreboard says, Tarun Sangha had a good chance of winning the match till the end but as the bowlers gave extra 40 runs, the fate of the match changed. Simply put, those extra runs made a huge difference. Veteran Niharendu Dev scored 16, Shivashish Dutta Gupta 15 and Perth Suklabaidya 15 for Spirit Union. Anirban Roy Choudhury took 2 wickets for 14 runs in his four overs for Tarun Sangha.

In the second match of the day, Town Boys defeated Dudhpatil Club by 20 runs. Town Boys won the toss and elected to bat first. They made 147 runs after losing 9 wickets. Sumit Chand batted well and put 48 to his tally. Besides, Sandeep Dutta scored 19, Vikram Ghosh 13 and Royal Roy 18 runs. Opponent bowler Masum Laskar took three wickets while Biswajit Nath took two.

While chasing, Dudhpatil got stuck at 127 runs for 7 wickets. Notable run contributors were Sumon Roy (25), Joydeep Nath (23), Shahbaz Barbhuiya (18), Ayan Dasgupta (16) and Minal Kanti Nath (13). Royal Roy and Sumit Chand took two wickets each.

Comments are closed.