Also read in

Silchar's three in Assam's team for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy; T20 matches start from Jan 10

In March 2020, Prime Minister Narendra Modi ordered a nationwide lockdown, which the economists across the globe term as the “strictest measures” to prohibit the spread of Coronavirus. That lockdown, locked down the sporting activities, whitewashed the summer season.

With India in the unlock phase, sporting activities across the country have gradually started to resume. The Board for Control of Cricket in India (BCCI), has announced that it would organise its inter-state T-20 tournament,  Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy in January at Eden Gardens and Jadavpur Cricket Stadium.

Assam Cricket Association (ACA) had organised a selection camp at Barsapara stadium where state players were invited from various districts. As reported by Barak Bulletin’s sports desk earlier, three players from Cachar – fast bowler Pritam Das, wicket-keeper batsman Abhishek Thakuri and left-arm orthodox, Rahul Singh were invited for the camp.

Yesterday, ACA announced the team for the 2021  Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and what comes as a matter of pride for Silchar DSA, all three of them have secured a spot in the state’s team. The fifteen men squad is,  Rishav Das (Captain), Pallav Kr. Das, Riyan Parag, Saahil Jain, Rajjakuddin Ahmed, Denish Das, Amit Sinha, Mukhtar Hussain, Pritam Das, Arup Das, Mrinmoy Dutta, Rahul Singh, Abhishek Thakuri (W.K.), Erik Roy (W.K.), Amlanjyoti Das.

The team has left for Kolkata yesterday and will play its first match against Hyderabad on January 10, 2021, at Eden Gardens, Kolkata at 7 PM, followed by its match against Tamil Nadu on January 12, 2021, at Eden Gardens at 7 PM. The third match is scheduled on January 14, 2021, against Jharkhand at Jadavpur at 12 PM. Assam’s fourth match will be held against Bengal on January 16, 2021, at Jadavpur at 12 PM, and the team will play its fifth match against Odisha on January 18, 2021, at Jadavpur at 12 PM.

Comments are closed.